24 June 2011

The Online Media Awards announces winners

The Online Media Awards, recognising the best in online journalism, announced its 2011 award winners last night at a ceremony in London. The event attracted entries from websites including The Guardian, The Sun, BBC, Sunday Times, Mail Online, Reuters and The Telegraph. On the international judging panel was Andrew Jaspan, former editor of The Age, David Mill former online editor of Mirror Group, Noel Young former group managing editor of the Daily Record and Sunday Mail, Charles McGhee former editor of The Herald and Jim Chisholm former director of the World Association of Newspapers.

Named as Website of the Year and winning the Grand Prix was thesundaytimes.co.uk for its replication of its printed version online and its editor Gordon Thomson was named Online Editor of the Year. In all, sundaytimes.co.uk took home six awards.


Chairman’s Award - Nursingtimes.net

Chairman’s Award - Press Gazette

Best Brand Development - Mail Online

Online Editor of the Year - Gordon Thomson, editor, The Sunday Times

Best Site for news-led Journalism - bbc.co.uk & guardian.co.uk

Best Specialist Site for Journalism - physicsworld.com

Best Campaigning / Investigative Journalism -
thesundaytimes.co.uk for Insight investigations by the Sunday Times

Best Commentary/Blogging - huffingtonpost.com

Best Video Journalism - thesundaytimes.co.uk

Best Designed site - thesundaytimes.co.uk

Best Twitter feed - @naturenews

Best Use of Social Media - BBC London & mashable.com

Best Use of Crowd Sourcing or Citizen Journalism - BBC London for Mapping the Tube Strike - with your help

Best Use of Photography - thesundaytimes.co.uk

Best Commercial Innovation - FoodBev.com

Digital Writer of the Year - Emma Barnett, Digital Media Editor, The Daily Telegraph

Best Podcast - bbc.co.uk - Non League Football Show

Technical Innovation - guardian.co.uk - guardian.co.uk/data